you're reading...
Uncategorized

Will Google Glass change the way we blog?

Grammar saves lives -  Source: someecards.com [Note: the "someones" in the image should read, "someone's"]

Grammar saves lives – Source: someecards.com [Note: the “someones” in the image should read, “someone’s”]

Blog post inspiration comes to me from many sources: other blog posts, news articles, human interactions, traditional media, social media and completely random thoughts (that usually arrive unheralded and unrecorded at 3am).

I recently shared this video “How It Feels Through Glass” on my Facebook page, which gives the viewer a taste of experiencing the world through Google Glass.

It got me thinking; (apart from, “I wear glasses, does it come in prescription?” and “What happens when it rains?”) just as our great-grandparents would have thought us crazy to talk into (and randomly poke at) small pieces of plastic/silicon/glass which we now see not only as crucial in our lives but crucial to our relationships. Will talking to ‘ourselves’ to interact with our Google Glass (or equivalent) become the norm?

What does this mean for writers?

I come up with ideas for articles whenever, wherever. Often they’re a stream of consciousness that is forgotten by the time I reach my destination, get out of the shower, finish hanging out the washing.

If I could articulate this stream of consciousness into some semblance of an article to be edited for publishing via Google Glass, I would be a far more prolific writer than I am now. Having the time to actually sit down and write (for myself) is a luxury I can often ill-afford (false economy, I know, when it’s marketing my business).

So will Google Glass increase or decrease the quality of the blog posts we see now?

I read a lot of blogs, not as many as some, but far more than I did before I started blogging. I have come to the conclusion that many bloggers aren’t as circumspect as I am when it comes to hitting the “Publish” button.

I write, read, edit, read, edit, write, read, prior to publishing but there are many blogs out there that are simply people’s raw thoughts, unedited on the page.

Obviously different blogs are published for different reasons. This blog, for example, is published as a portfolio for potential clients. My food blog is published as a recipe archive for my (other) brand. My personal blog is for my personal opinions and experiences on parenting.

Each blog obviously has different content and certainly has a different tone and style of writing. In each blog (and every piece of content I produce), I always strive for perfect spelling and grammar. I see it as a courtesy to my readers to make each piece as readable as possible.

Yes, there are different writing styles and, being creative, it is subjective. Across the board, however, good writing is hallmarked by precise spelling and grammar.

I read this fantastic post from Firebrand Talent on the deterioration of English writing, speaking and communicating. As a writer I’m obviously someone who cares deeply about the quality of writing, not only in terms of spelling and grammar but in form and function too.

As I commented on the post, I think grammar and spelling are being eroded by the technologies of modern life and I shudder to think how my young daughter will communicate in a few years’ time. Hopefully an English teacher grandmother and a copywriter mother will set her in good stead.

I don’t think it is actually too much to ask of people to use language in its proper form (especially in the professional realm). We wouldn’t use maths incorrectly as it would change outcomes and, in my (humble) opinion, the incorrect use of grammar and spelling affects the meaning of words and can certainly lead to miscommunication and misunderstandings.

What are we to do? Send everyone back to school? Provide basic English tutorials in the workplace?

Personally I don’t actually recall grammar lessons at school but I think 6 years of Latin classes (geek alert!) certainly enhanced my vocabulary as well as my understanding of the structure of the English language.

It might be boring but these lessons are essential to develop our understanding what others are saying as well as our own self-expression.

Maybe it’s time we all head back to the classroom?

Or maybe I’m a dinosaur stuck in the dark ages and need to say, “Totes soz  brah, GOI bcos YOLO”.

But I never will, because that’s just not how I roll.

About Jane McKay @janemckaycomms

I’m Jane. I write. I design. I create. In 2009, following a tree-change to sunny East Gippsland, I realised a dream and started my own business through which I have freelanced my marketing services ever since. I understand that marketing your business can be overwhelming, overcomplicated and often overlooked. That’s why I’m here. With a range of expertise built on a Masters in Media and Communications and derived from more than 8 years’ industry experience working with small companies as well as large multi-nationals, I help businesses grow. A creative soul with a strong geek side, I combine my love of wordsmithing with an interest in all things design- and tech-related.The perfect combination of skills for my career in creative marketing.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Will Google Glass change the way we blog?

  1. Great blog and post!

    Posted by OwlMcCloud | February 27, 2013, 2:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,440 other followers

The word from the Twitterverse

