you're reading...
Uncategorized

Smart cookies: Oreo’s advertising coup

THAT Oreo Twitter ad

THAT Oreo Twitter ad

Not being privy to the Super Bowl live here in Australia (in the office, anyway), I was only able to watch the events of #SB47 unfold live on Twitter.

Like many others, I was only in it for the ads. And, following many hundreds of social media / marketing tweeps, my feed was jam-packed with the #brandbowl tag.

Mentions of @godaddy and @audi started proliferating, then @beyonce, then #blackout.

Naturally, I had no clue what was going on for a few moments. Until it became clear that the lights had gone out at the Super Bowl (and according to some, Beyonce was to blame).

What followed was the most responsive, immediate piece of advertising ever.

Within minutes, cookie company Oreo had tweeted the image above and pulled off the greatest social media advertising coup of all time.

The price of Super Bowl advertising is legendary. The investment in creative is exceeded only by the spend on a 60 second spot.

Oreo has managed, with a tweet, to garner coverage that will far exceed their paid advertising ROI.

It’s not just the coverage and the brand awareness that results from social media exposure; it’s the immeasurable goodwill, the respect of the influencers and the buzz it generates that makes it truly valuable.

Reading this article on Buzzfeed it’s clear that at the agency’s “mission control” they were expecting the unexpected.

With a straightforward tagline and a very simple graphic, what they achieved was a retweet figure of more than 12k (at time of publishing).

All from being in the right place at the right time and having the marketing execs with the guts to be absolutely responsive in this world of social media immediacy in which we reside.

Clients who are willing to go there, to take a risk, to go out on a limb, are a marketer’s dream.

[Edit 05/02/2013: Oreo weren’t the only ones to capitalise on the #blackout. Here’s Hubspot’s article on the 10 Innovative Social Media Newsjacks of the Super Bowl Power Outage]

About Jane McKay @janemckaycomms

I’m Jane. I write. I design. I create. In 2009, following a tree-change to sunny East Gippsland, I realised a dream and started my own business through which I have freelanced my marketing services ever since. I understand that marketing your business can be overwhelming, overcomplicated and often overlooked. That’s why I’m here. With a range of expertise built on a Masters in Media and Communications and derived from more than 8 years’ industry experience working with small companies as well as large multi-nationals, I help businesses grow. A creative soul with a strong geek side, I combine my love of wordsmithing with an interest in all things design- and tech-related.The perfect combination of skills for my career in creative marketing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,440 other followers

The word from the Twitterverse

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

