you're reading...
Uncategorized

I’m at BlogU, how about you?

BlogUDo you remember your good ol’ Uni (college) days? Hours spent sitting around musty rooms that smelled of old books, hotly debating how you thought this new thing called the “Internet” (it had a capital “I” in those days) would impact the world.

We were young, passionate and full of vigour. We thought we held the keys to the universe and could answer the world’s problems.

In the here and now I see the blogosphere as one giant, global University.

A place where people who are genuinely interested in their fields are contributing their knowledge (mostly free) to the general populous and engaging in vigorous and lively conversations with people with whom they have nothing in common but a shared interest in a specific topic, no matter how obscure.

So, who’s who at BlogU?

The Dean – the power users of the blogosphere can dictate the topics, mood and the sentiment. Although with constant algorithm updates, so can VC Google.

Faculty of Arts – contributors of creative content, prone to random tangents but we love them because sometimes they come up with interesting (and often very funny) stuff.

Faculty of Engineering – contributing plug ins, apps and all the technical things that no one else notices or cares about but without them (as they like to remind us) the world would fall apart!

Faculty of Commerce – constantly questioning (and reminding us) how we can make money from our labours.

Faculty of Design – creating beautiful themes that we don’t necessarily think about but without the interwebz would be a less attractive place.

Faculty of IT – enough said.

There’s tutorials and lectures, hours of research and lively debate. Passions are flared and opinions ridiculed but we’ve all got them and we all share them.

What are you up to at BlogU? Me? Currently I am majoring in Arts with a minor in Design (but really should do some electives in Commerce).

About Jane McKay @janemckaycomms

I’m Jane. I write. I design. I create. In 2009, following a tree-change to sunny East Gippsland, I realised a dream and started my own business through which I have freelanced my marketing services ever since. I understand that marketing your business can be overwhelming, overcomplicated and often overlooked. That’s why I’m here. With a range of expertise built on a Masters in Media and Communications and derived from more than 8 years’ industry experience working with small companies as well as large multi-nationals, I help businesses grow. A creative soul with a strong geek side, I combine my love of wordsmithing with an interest in all things design- and tech-related.The perfect combination of skills for my career in creative marketing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,440 other followers

The word from the Twitterverse

