you're reading...
Uncategorized

Who’s your best customer?

In my line of work I hear (and talk) a lot about target audiences.

The target audience is king. It’s who we’re talking to when we’re doing the marketing talk. It’s who we want to motivate to walk when we’re doing the marketing walk.

I developed a successful TV/radio campaign last year. Customer numbers (it’s a service industry) went up 5% which, when you extrapolate over the market I was in, equalled a lot of people. The client was happy. I was not.

They were the wrong type of people. They were small potatoes. Quantity, not quality. They weren’t the people who were going to make the company the most amount of money from the fewest transactions.

Sounds cold, I know, but this is the business I’m in.

I want bums on seats, clicks on mice, eyeballs on screens. I want people to hear/see/read the message and take action but I don’t want everybody to do that, just the people who are going to be the most profitable.

It’s the very basic tenet of marketing: return on investment (ROI).

So, who is your best customer? Not the most loyal, or the most regular and certainly not the one who bends your ear for 20 minutes only to leave after buying from the bargain bin; or (in my industry) the one who demands full artistic control and myriad changes on a small, one-off job..

Your best customer is the one who represents the highest value for the lowest effort.

While you can make your money with lots of small sales; regular, high value sales are the ones will keep you busy and make you money.

Your best customer who repeatedly buys high value goods/services, is low maintenance and recommends you to their friends!

Define your best customer, write down this definition, draw a picture of that customer and make sure their framed portrait is at your side when you’re doing your marketing plan.

After all, you love that person and they mean the world to you and your business.

About Jane McKay @janemckaycomms

I’m Jane. I write. I design. I create. In 2009, following a tree-change to sunny East Gippsland, I realised a dream and started my own business through which I have freelanced my marketing services ever since. I understand that marketing your business can be overwhelming, overcomplicated and often overlooked. That’s why I’m here. With a range of expertise built on a Masters in Media and Communications and derived from more than 8 years’ industry experience working with small companies as well as large multi-nationals, I help businesses grow. A creative soul with a strong geek side, I combine my love of wordsmithing with an interest in all things design- and tech-related.The perfect combination of skills for my career in creative marketing.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Who’s your best customer?

  1. Great post Janie!!

    Consistently LOVE your work!

    Kind regards Merryn Padgett

    Founder & Virtual Personal Assistant Earth & Sea Consulting (e) m@earthandsea.com.au (m) 0427 724 411 (fb) http://facebook.com/EarthSeaConsulting

    Posted by Merryn Padgett | October 15, 2012, 3:52 pm
  2. I just had a call from a high school buddy who chatted about his divorce for 35 minutes and then when he was saying good bye squeaked in…”I hope everything is OK with you?”

    That’s kind of a good analogy, right? If you put that into customer speak, then it’s easy to know that’s not the type of audience you want to deal with.

    Posted by Jayme Soulati (@Soulati) | October 19, 2012, 2:22 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Twits, Tweets and Likes: Decoding Social Media to Market Your Small Business « Jane McKay Communications - October 21, 2012

  2. Pingback: The other (social) media « Jane McKay Communications - January 16, 2013

  3. Pingback: Throwing staff off the fiscal cliff is not the answer « Jane McKay Communications - January 23, 2013

  4. Pingback: Throwing staff off the fiscal cliff is not the answer | Jane McKay Communications - April 9, 2013

  5. Pingback: The other (social) media | Jane McKay Communications - April 24, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,440 other followers

The word from the Twitterverse

