you're reading...
Uncategorized

Top 5 Tips for Resuscitating Your Unloved Blog

It’s been a huge few weeks for me here at JMC HQ and the first thing to go?

The fun stuff.

Pinterest was first out the door, followed closely by my blog and Facebook came in a lagging third (really should have been second but it’s the closest thing I have to a social life)…

I promised myself I wouldn’t allow a week to pass without publishing at least one blog post.

In fact I have a stash of half-written draft posts for such occasions but I didn’t even give them the time of day.

So, how to keep up the blog momentum when you’re having one of those weeks?

  1. Re-post. There are so many wonderful blogs out there. I have a few favourites and, in times of need can turn to them for a quick and easy re-post (with credit where credit is due, of course).
  2. Drafts. Aforementioned draft posts. We all have them, take a little time crafting one into something engaging and enjoyable. Short, sweet and to the point.
  3. Breaking news. It’s current, it’s interesting (to you, or me, at least) and if you are genuinely interested in an issue you’ll be able to knock out a few hundred words to create a post in no time.
  4. Images! Images are a wonderful source of inspiration for you and for your audience. Create one, find one (creative commons), post one.
  5. Lists. Yes, do as I have done and put together a top 5 (or top 3 to be even more economical with your time). Tips, tricks, hints, thoughts, inspirations, best of, mix tape; whatever inspires you and interests your audience.

Short and sweet, that’s all I have time for! Go forth and write blogger peeps.

About Jane McKay @janemckaycomms

I’m Jane. I write. I design. I create. In 2009, following a tree-change to sunny East Gippsland, I realised a dream and started my own business through which I have freelanced my marketing services ever since. I understand that marketing your business can be overwhelming, overcomplicated and often overlooked. That’s why I’m here. With a range of expertise built on a Masters in Media and Communications and derived from more than 8 years’ industry experience working with small companies as well as large multi-nationals, I help businesses grow. A creative soul with a strong geek side, I combine my love of wordsmithing with an interest in all things design- and tech-related.The perfect combination of skills for my career in creative marketing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,440 other followers

The word from the Twitterverse

