you're reading...
Uncategorized

Short copy is good copy

Eye-grabbing headlines. Brief, punchy sentences.

Copywriting 101 is about producing succinct, concise copy. When I was at uni we would take a verbose sentence and pare it back to its bare bones while still conveying the same meaning.

I’ll keep this brief (which is difficult for me).

The 5 keys to quality copy are:

1. Use the active voice whenever practicable.

2. Delete repeated words that are repeated.

3. Be clear. Avoid the verbose. Delete unnecessary words.

4. Keep sentences short.

5. Edit. Edit. Edit.

6. Proof read your work.

I love this post titled How to Write Good (so much so it’s printed and tacked my desk wall).

What’s your golden rule for copywriting?

[PS – If you’re interested in the translation of the Latin that appears at the top of that post (to save you Googling): caveat emptor means buyer beware, carpe diem means seize the day, et tu brute is Caesar’s famous quote “and you, Brutus”; the remainder is pig latin.]

 

About Jane McKay @janemckaycomms

I’m Jane. I write. I design. I create. In 2009, following a tree-change to sunny East Gippsland, I realised a dream and started my own business through which I have freelanced my marketing services ever since. I understand that marketing your business can be overwhelming, overcomplicated and often overlooked. That’s why I’m here. With a range of expertise built on a Masters in Media and Communications and derived from more than 8 years’ industry experience working with small companies as well as large multi-nationals, I help businesses grow. A creative soul with a strong geek side, I combine my love of wordsmithing with an interest in all things design- and tech-related.The perfect combination of skills for my career in creative marketing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,440 other followers

The word from the Twitterverse

