you're reading...
Uncategorized

Why typography speaks louder than words

When Typography Speaks Louder Than Words

I’m a fontiphile. A died-in-the-wool, hardcore font geek. Few things bring me such joy as trawling through typography, carefully crafted purely for my enjoyment.

But it’s not just the visual appearance of fonts that makes them so deliciously appealing, it’s how they make us feel.

The personality of every brand is expressed (and judged) by the font they choose to utilise in their communications. [Generally I’m a Myriad Pro or TwCenMT girl myself and am currently feeling decidedly constrained by web-safe fonts, ho hum.]

The influence of fonts and typography and there direct impact on how we perceive words is explored in this article from Smashing Magazine, ‘When Typography Speaks Louder Than Words’, which I think should be called ‘WHY Typography Speaks Louder Than Words’….

About Jane McKay @janemckaycomms

I’m Jane. I write. I design. I create. In 2009, following a tree-change to sunny East Gippsland, I realised a dream and started my own business through which I have freelanced my marketing services ever since. I understand that marketing your business can be overwhelming, overcomplicated and often overlooked. That’s why I’m here. With a range of expertise built on a Masters in Media and Communications and derived from more than 8 years’ industry experience working with small companies as well as large multi-nationals, I help businesses grow. A creative soul with a strong geek side, I combine my love of wordsmithing with an interest in all things design- and tech-related.The perfect combination of skills for my career in creative marketing.

Discussion

One thought on “Why typography speaks louder than words

  1. great article from smashing mag. and i, like you, am a big-time font & type geek. i just wrote an article on my blog about typography today also. nice blog!

    Posted by TDL | June 18, 2012, 6:57 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,440 other followers

The word from the Twitterverse

